Yeah, photography can be quite a hazardous job.

Another random impromptu shoot yesterday. A model contacted me and told me that she’d like to do a shoot with. She said she used to model for Roxy so I figured why not. I mean as odd as it seems, I haven’t done a beach shoot even though I live 5 minutes away from one.

Set up a date and time. No hair/MUA, no stylist, no solid concept in mind. The 9am beach shoot was a gamble since we did not know how thick the marine layer will be or if there will even be one. I figured 9am should be fine. Sunrise is at around 6am so 3 hours should be enough for the marine layer to burn or at least thin a bit.

WRONG

9am and cloudy as hell.

I’m thinking of NorCal

Olympus E510 w/ 50mm f2

ISO 200 f5.6 1/400

I started out shooting at like ISO 100 f2 1/2000 but I had to be mad stable shooting at f2. I kept moving my feet around to get a stable footing. Doesn’t always work when you’re standing on unstable ground to begin with.

I was wiggling my foot to get a solid feel when I slipped. I owe my life to this piece of rebar that I was able to grab onto or else it would have been a long and hard…40′ fall.

Then again I probably shouldn’t have worn flip flops to begin with. But WTH. It was supposed to be a beach shoot, not a cliff shoot. Wait…did I not say this was not planned? Yeah it wasn’t.

About Carlo

I like film photography, K-pop, and yogurt soju.

Leave a Reply

