So yesterday I tweeted (sp?) about curing the photographic funk by coming up with a killer editorial idea. I’ve been dying to do a fall shoot for a while and I was going through a funk because I could not think of an idea suitable for my target market. I subscribe to three different fashion magazines – American Elle, American Vogue, and W. Naturally, most of the images that get retained in my memory are images with the likes of Chanel, Gucci, Dior, etc. Superb editorials and ad campaigns but not exactly within the arena I am going for. So anyway, I had plenty of ideas but none of them fit in the 13-17ish niche that I am targeting. What to do? What to do?

I was on the subway on my way to meet up with my friend Sam Zachrich. I was reluctant on taking the November issue of W because of the risque Kim Kardashian cover. I had a Delia’s catalog in my bag so I took it out and started flipping through the pages when I came across this.

I laughed quietly since the look reminded me of my friend/coworker Jessica‘s outfit at work earlier during the week. We were taking pics of scarves and leg warmers and she ended up looking like an English schoolgirl.

As Col. Hans Landa said in the movie Inglorious Basterds: “That’s a bingo!”

That was it for me. I’m going to be doing an English schoolgirl shoot. The train just started running.

Overall look for the model? Done.

One can capitalize on the English schoolgirl look to do an entire fall editorial. I know it sounds boring since it seems that you can’t deviate much from the school uniform…but you can. I may have to develop the story a bit more but it can be done.

Where to shoot? Where to shoot? Let’s see….English schoolgirl = Europe. Once again “It’s a bingo.” I thought about Daria Werbowy in the “Americans in Paris” editorial shot by Mario Testino.

Location. Done. No, I’m not going to disclose it. Them. I’m not going to disclose them.

Step 2: Mood Board

Who wants to go through a Harry Potter marathon this weekend? I might throw in Van Wilder 2: The Rise of Taj and The Blind Side as well.

Step 3: Casting

Step 4: Scouting/Scene shots

Step 5: Wardrobe acquisition

Step 6: Storyboard

Step 7: Scheduling

Step 8: Shoot

Step 9: PP

Step 10: Delivery

About Carlo

I like film photography, K-pop, and yogurt soju.

Leave a Reply

