So I recently have been commissioned to produce and shoot the SS 2011 ad campaign for an emerging (sorry, I just couldn’t use “up and coming”) menswear line along the likes of Express, Tommy Hilfiger, and Lacoste (as far as I understood).  Now this is not just a simple shoot and burn kind of gig hence the use of the word “produce” in the previous sentence. I am supposed to take care of everything from start to finish. I met with the development board yesterday to get an idea of their needs and the direction they’re going. It seems to be a fun project though I’d have to adapt a bit and stop cracking Taylor Swift and Bring it On Again: All or Nothing jokes as that will probably get me disowned from the set lol.

When asked to breakdown the needs for the shoot, I summed everything up into three major action item list: Concept, Location, Models (they already have the stylist and hair/mua figured out). With all three, I can come up with a shot list that includes who, what, when, and how to shoot each look. I kept on reiterating that I am all about that style of shooting. As my friend Lauren Tracy posted on her FB wall: “Overprepare then go with the flow”

Yup. Just to make sure the flow is in the right direction and at the right rate.

Yet again stay tuned. My plate is starting to get full. I have this, the Wingardium Leviosa, and the Gingerbread Latte shoots in development stages. BTW, the first one has encountered one big wall. That will be my blog post tonight…or tomorrow…or the day after. Gotta shoot a bunch of earrings and brooches at work. If I feel motivated to lug my camera with me, I just might do a 5DMk2 vs E510 (Olympus) color rendition test.

About Carlo

I like film photography, K-pop, and yogurt soju.

Leave a Reply

