So there was the annual family wish list handover thing and I go scratch my head cause I’m like, “most of the things I really want are just way too expensive to ask for.” That said, there was this Twitter discussion on how to spend $20,000 photographically speaking. Most people of course respond with a list of gear they’d want to have. Although I do want camera X, lens Y, and strobe Z, I really am perfectly fine with my what I have at the moment. They do have their limitations but I know them by heart and have learned to work around them. What I really want is to be able to shoot unhindered at a location of choice with the people I like working with.

If I had like $100,000 or some other hefty amount to spend on something photography related, I’d assemble my team (assistant, stylist, hair, MU, and several models), buy everyone plane and hotel tickets, secure the necessary shooting permits and local transportation, rent a handful of gear (say 2 15″ Macbook Pros, rugged external hard drives, C-stands, 2 Elinchrom Quadra Rxs), fly to one of the locations below, and shoot to my heart’s content.

Gear is important. Gear is very important but vision comes first. Unless you deal primarily with pixel-peepers, your audience is more likely to see the big picture (no pun intended) before noticing the minute differences in image quality brought about by different quality equipment. The setting, models, wardrobe, and lighting are seen first before the tonal gradations in the shadow areas of the image that are not as smooth as those rendered by a digital medium format camera back. I would much rather shoot at an exotic location with gorgeous models backed by a solid team than buy a digital medium format system and shoot at yet another brick wall, grass field, or railroad track.

The Destination List

Tokyo, Japan

Three words: Cherry Blossoms, Mt. Fuji, Japanese Pagoda (ok maybe six words). I’d love to have all in one shoot.

Img src: alljapantours.com

Oh and the city is nice and vibrant too. Ever seen Lost In Translation or better yet Dave Powell’s photographs in his website Shoot Tokyo? Beautiful…the photographs and the city of course.

Santorini, Greece

The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. Yeah. Greece has been in my travel destination list since I saw that movie…and it’s sequel in 2008 (which I saw and the theaters with a friend…and like hundreds of other girls). I just think it would be nice to do an ad campaign there for one of my favorite denim labels ^_^

oooops wrong pic lol

With all the white walls in there, I wouldn’t need a reflector lol. Oh and I’m a sucker for blues.

Vigan, Ilocos Sur, Philippines

This is one of my all-time favorite editorials. I’ve been wanting to make that story my own. This is what Vigan looks like:

Img src: photo.net.ph

Potential for some high end fashion photos, yes? Old buildings, cobblestone streets, old wood, horse-drawn carriages…. you get the picture ^_^

Oh and I’d be lying to you if I don’t mention Vigan longganisa (sausage). It’s garlic-y and just a tad sour. That, fried rice, scrambled eggs, freshly cut tomatoes = breakfast to die for. Seriously. I’m craving some right now just by writing about it.

El Nido, Palawan, Philippines

Check out this wideangle shot: beach, tropical mountains, ocean. That’s three different environments all in one general location.

I think the Philippines has been underrated when it comes to fashion productions. It’s modern enough to support the technology required for such level of activity and it has a plethora of geographical features from tropical to urban (certain areas of course) to historic (for lack of a better word). Moreover, the general population is hospitable and English literate so it’s easy to get local help. Honestly, I’d go there if I can go in one major photo expedition just cause it has such great potential.

Falkland Islands

It’s a quaint little English beach town. Why here? Um…cause it’s the Falkland Islands. I mean how many get to say, “oh we shot at the Falkland Islands”?

Seriously now. You can do a nautical-themed shoot by the capital – Stanley…

…then drive inland and shoot at the wide open space. A couple of ATVs, an old pickup truck, etc…reminds me of the AEO Spring 2010 campaign

So… who’s coming with? ^_^

About Carlo

I like film photography, K-pop, and yogurt soju.

2 responses »

  1. I love this post. I need to find you the link to the free Japan flights that are coming up. Then you can come visit me in Korea while you’re here, too. 🙂

    El Nido is stunning. One of my favorite places on this Earth.

  2. […] Look how pretty it is! It matches their holiday campaign! I’m shooting tomorrow but perhaps I”ll head over to the mall to get some more jeans…or flipflops…or belts. IDK I love them all. **Yes, I did kinda hint that I’d like GCs from my fave labels for Christmas just cause…well…just check out my post** […]

Leave a Reply

